Call Us: US - +1 845 478 5244 | UK - +44 20 7193 7850 | AUS - +61 2 8005 4826

An adult Personality Development.

Psychosocial Stages Summary Chart

Infancy (birth to 18 months)

  • Basic Conflict: Trust vs. Mistrust
  • Important Events: Feeding
  • Outcome: During the first stage of psychosocial development, children develop a sense of trust when caregivers provide reliability, care, and affection. A lack of this will lead to mistrust.

Early Childhood

  • Basic Conflict: Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt
  • Important Events: Toilet Training
  • Outcome: Children need to develop a sense of personal control over physical skills and a sense of independence. Potty training plays an important role in helping children develop this sense of autonomy. Children who struggle and who are shamed for their accidents may be left without a sense of personal control. Success during this stage of psychosocial development leads to feelings of autonomy, failure results in feelings of shame and doubt.

Preschool (3 to 5 years)

  • Basic Conflict: Initiative vs. Guilt
  • Important Events: Exploration
  • Outcome: Children need to begin asserting control and power over the environment. Success in this stage leads to a sense of purpose. Children who try to exert too much power experience disapproval, resulting in a sense of guilt.

School Age (6 to 11 years)

  • Basic Conflict: Industry vs. Inferiority
  • Important Events: School
  • Outcome: Children need to cope with new social and academic demands. Success leads to a sense of competence, while failure results in feelings of inferiority.

Adolescence (12 to 18 years)

  • Basic Conflict: Identity vs. Role Confusion
  • Important Events: Social Relationships
  • Outcome: Teens need to develop a sense of self and personal identity. Success leads to an ability to stay true to yourself, while failure leads to role confusion and a weak sense of self.